52 Faculty & Staff

  • Dave Bren, PE, MSCE

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer (PE), WA
    • Education: Master of Science in Civil Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering
    • Email: dbren@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: PHYS301, PHYS302, PHYS303, HCON222, HCON421, COMP151, COMP301, CIVE101, and MECH101
  • Katherine Bren, MSE, EIT

    Engineering and Mathematics Instructor

    • Registration: Engineer in Training (EIT)
    • Education: Master of Science in Engineering (Civil), Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering
    • Email: kbren@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: MATH131, MATH132, MATH133, MATH231, MATH301, MATH302, and ECON301
  • David Bradley, PE, MBA

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer (PE), WA
    • Education: Master of Business Administration, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering
    • Company: Bradley Engineering, Principle Engineer
    • Email: dbradley@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: ENGR441
  • Breck Byington, MA, EIT

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Engineer in Training (EIT)
    • Education: Master of Industrial Design, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
    • Company: Allsop, Design Engineer
    • Email: bbyington@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: MECH131, MECH211, MECH212, MECH213, MECH221, MECH222, MECH231
  • Sean Cool, PE, MSE

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer (PE), WA
    • Education: Master of Science in Geotechnical Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Geology
    • Company: GeoEngineers, Senior Geotechnical Engineer
    • Email: scool@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: CIVE451
  • Scott Goodall, PE, MSCE

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer, WA
    • Company: Pacific Surveying and Engineering, Project Engineer
    • Education: Master of Science in Civil Engineering and Wood Science, Bachelor of Science in Civil and Environmental Engineering
    • Email: sgoodall@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: CIVE201 and CIVE202
  • James A LaHatt, PE

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer, WA
    • Company: LaHatt Engineering Corporation, Principle Engineer
    • Education: Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering
    • Email: jlahatt@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: CIVE203, CIVE221, ENGR401, ENGR402, ENGR403, CIVE441
  • Craig Lang, BA

    Technical Writing Instructor

  • Robert D. Morse, PLS

    Land Surveying Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Land Surveyor, WA
    • Company: City of Bellingham, Surveying Manager
    • Education: Bachelor of Science in Industrial Technology
    • Email: bmorse@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: SURV131, SURV132, and SURV234
  • Don Pringle, M.Ed., NBCT

    Physics Instructor

    • Education: Master of Education in Natural Science/Science Education, Bachelor of Arts in Physics Education
    • Company: Ferndale High School, Physics Instructor
    • Email: dpringle@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: PHYS121
  • Celt Schira, PE, MSEE, MA

    Engineering and Mathematics Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer, WA
    • Company: Schira Consulting, Principle Engineer
    • Education: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering, Master of Arts in Applied Mathematics, Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics
    • Email: cschira@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: MECH221, MECH222, MATH233, MATH301, MATH302, MATH303, MATH401, MATH402, and ENGR471
  • Ben Schouten, PE

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer, WA
    • Company: Lynden Door, Mechanical Engineer
    • Education: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering
    • Email: bschouten@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: MECH101, COMP151, MECH221, and MECH231
  • Sam Shipp, PE

    Engineering Instructor

    • Registration: Professional Engineer, WA
    • Company: City of Bellingham, Project Engineer
    • Education: Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering
    • Email: sshipp@weiedu.org
    • Teaches:HCON421
  • Mark Stouder

    Construction Engineering Management Instructor

    • Education: Bachelor of Science in Construction Engineering Management
    • Company: Strider Construction, Project Manager
    • Email: mstouder@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: HCON201, HCON202, HCON203, HCON421, HCON422, HCON423
  • Doug Zaugg

    Solidworks Instructor

    • Education: Bachelor of Fine Arts in Industrial Design
    • Company: Allsop, Industrial/Mechanical Design Engineer
    • Email: dzaugg@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: MECH211, MECH212, and MECH213
  • Jennifer Styer, M.Ed.

    Computer Science Instructor

  • Brian Walker

    CADD and Civil 3D Instructor

    • Education: Bachelor of Science in Land Restoration Associates of Applied Science in Civil Engineering Technology
    • Company: Whatcom County Public Works, CADD Manager
    • Email: bwalker@weiedu.org
    • Teaches: CIVE211, CIVE212, CIVE213, CADD111, and CADD112

Staff and Administration

    • Katherine Bren, MSE, EIT

      Business Manager

      • Registration: Engineer in Training (EIT)
      • Education: Master of Science in Engineering (Civil), Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering
      • Email: kbren@weiedu.org
      • Duties: Budgeting, Tuition, and Staffing
    • Dave Bren, PE, MSCE

      President

      • Registration: Professional Engineer (PE), WA
      • Education: Master of Science in Civil Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering
      • Email: dbren@weiedu.org
      • Duties: Vision, Mission, and Administrative Direction
    • Janelle Miner

      Registrar

      • Education: Master of Education in Adult Education Administration, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration
      • Email: jminer@weiedu.org
      • Duties: Registrar
    • Todd Moore

      Assistant Dean of Academics

      • Education: Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering Technology, Bachelor of Arts in English
      • Email: tmoore@weiedu.org
      • Duties: Accreditation, Advisory Committees, Curriculum Planning, Academy of Engineering, Marketing, and Outreach
    • Martin Kjelstad, PE

      Advisory Committees and Student Mentoring Coordinator

      • Registration: Professional Engineer, WA
      • Education: Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering
      • Email: mkjelstad@weiedu.org
      • Duties: Advisory Committees and Student Mentoring
    • Tyler Reynolds

      Webmaster


Technical Advisers and Teaching Assistants

    • Sam Adams

      Drone/UAV Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: 4 years of progressive experience with civil design and Drone/UAV technical services. Mr. Adams is currently an Owner/Operator of Eagle-Eye Aerial Solutions and the CADD Manager for Spartan Design.
      • Education: BS and AAS in Civil Engineering Technology, Washington Engineering Institute
      • Email: samadams@weiedu.org
    • Alan Danforth

      Construction Surveying Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: 11 years of progressive experience with civil design and land surveying work. Mr. Danforth is currently a Senior Survey/Engineering Technician for Land Development Engineering and Surveying Inc.
      • Education: AAS Surveying and Mapping, Bellingham Technical College
      • Email: adanforth@weiedu.org
    • Mark Howard

      Stormwater and Erosion Control Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: 7 years of experience in public and private stormwater and erosion control inspection. Mr. Howard is currently a Stormwater Inspector for the City of Bellingham.
      • Education: Associate of Science, ITT Technical Institute
      • Email: mhoward@weiedu.org
    • Sam Kloes

      Construction Surveying Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: 12 years of experience in heavy civil construction surveying. Mr. Kloes is currently the GPS Survey Manager for IMCO General Construction.
      • Education: University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
      • Email: skloes@weiedu.org
    • Monica Knutzen

      Traffic Control Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: 10 years of experience in traffic control training, traffic control supervision, and academic counseling.
      • Education: Master of Arts in Education, City University Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, Western Washington University
      • Email: mknutzen@weiedu.org
    • Erik Kremsner

      Composite Materials Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: Erik currently works for Janicki Industries as a Project Manager on various composite materials projects from commercial boats to the aerospace industry. Previous experience at Janicki was as a process engineer.
      • Education: Bachelor of Science, Western Washington University
      • Email: ekremsner@weiedu.org
    • Mitch Pelzer

      Construction Surveying Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: 18 years of experience in heavy civil construction. Mr. Pelzer is currently a Superintendent and GPS Survey Manager for RAM Construction.
      • Education: Washington Engineering Institute
      • Email: mpelzer@weiedu.org
    • Brian Smith

      CAD and Building Design Teaching Assistant

      • Experience: 16 years of multi-industry experience in civil design, building design, construction inspection, and project management. Mr. Smith is currently the Director of Technology for IMCO General Construction.
      • Education: Edmonds Community College Bellevue Community College Washington Engineering Institute
      • Email: bsmith@weiedu.org